25-2-2017

 

Hoi beste Ron,


De SWR op 160m is prima : bij mijn opstelling is de SWR op 1.845 MHz 1:1.3, op de rest van de 160m-band is de SWR iets hoger maar makkelijk met de ingebouwde tuner van de ICOM IC-7600 te corrigeren. Het uitgaande vermogen is over de gehele band meer dan 90% (gemeten achter de tuner). Gisteren, vrijdag 24 februari 2017, tijdens de 160m-contest waren de ontvangen signalen ook meer dan geweldig, S9+30dB en meer waren geen uitzondering.
Op 80m ligt de resonantiefrequentie rond de 3.730 MHz, maar ook hier kan ik met een kleine aanpassing van de tuner op de gehele band geweldig uitkomen : de rapporten die ik gisteren kreeg van enkele Nederlandse stations op 3.630 MHz (PA3ANG, PA1AJB en PA3HFT) waren overweldigend : 59+20dB en meer.
Al met al ben ik zeer content met de 160m HyEndFed-antenne, voor mij een perfecte antenne voor de radio-experimenten en contesten.
Een hartelijke groet en bedankt voor dit geweldige mooie product !


Paul - ON2PCO
 

 

 


 

 

22-1-2017

 

Hi Ron,

In the meantime I made some tests with the HyEndFed and the help of the WSPR Mode http://dev.wsprnet.org
I connected the very tiny WSPRLite TX ( http://www.sotabeams.co.uk/wsprlite ) to the HyEndFed Antenna and compared it with my vertical Diamond CP6-R Antenna connected to my Yaesu FT-991.
See attached DXPlorer Screenshot ( http://dxplorer.net ), but please keep in mind, the WSPRlite TX max. RFPower is only 200mW, while the FT-991 min. RFPower can only be set to 5W !

The other screenshot (WSPRNet-last24h) shows all the stations which heard my WSPR Signal in the past 24h. I find it quite impressive to see that the signal with the HyEndFed and only 200mW is being heard in the US ..!
So I must see I am very happy with my new Antenna from you !

 

Now I wish you a nice weekend


73's Roland

 


 

 


 

9-11-2016

 

Hi, Ron!

I just wanted to give you some feedback on the 5-band EFHWA that I bought through WIMO in Germany back in August. I just got around to
testing it thoroughly in the past few weeks. I have the feedpoint on
the top of a mast extension for my sat dish, about 2m above the top of the house, approx. 12 to 14 meters above ground. It slopes down to a height of 2,5 meters, stretched across my back yard into the empty next door lot, due south. The SWR on 10, 15, 20, 40 meter bands is quite low so that I don't need a tuner. I do have an MFJ 926B autotuner mounted at the base of the sat mast, and the antenna tunes nicely on 80 meters.
It is simple to roll up when I am not using it or the weather gets testy (the match box can be raised and lowered on a lanyard like on a sailboat mast). The antenna is also pretty stealthy. Nobody notices the thin black wire or the thin bamboo pole that supports the end of the antenna. I work mostly 20 and 40 meters. In the winter months I will also be doing more 80 meters (grey line). Oh, and with my tuner I also
get good SWR on the WARC bands. I have been having QSO's mostly with
southern (east and west) Europe, although I have had a contact with an OM in Norway and some QSO's with OM's in the UK. I am literally running
100 watts and a wire. This antenna certainly beats the portable
vertical antenna I had been using previously, and of course my home brew long wire with (ground radials) antenna that was my first HF antenna. I will continue to gather more QSO's and experience with the 5-band EFHWA and give you some more feedback, if you care.

Best 73's
David DM3BC
 

 

 


 

7-6-2016

 

Hallo Ron
Hierbij mij review van YB9/PB5X:
The last time in YB9 Bali ( 2014 ) i only have worked on the 20mtr band because that were the propagation was.
I had taken a look at www.voacap.com before leaving for Bali and saw that this time the propagation was not all to good on 20mtr.
That said i wanted to try the 15 & 17mtr band instead. ( ofcourse i took the 20mtr Hyendfed aswell as you never know ... )
The main operating time for me, and whan there was propagation to EU, was only at 22:00 Loc Bali time.
As Voacap allready predicted, the propagation on 20mtr was complety dead and i tried to work on 17 mtr.
This worked great.
I managed to work about 55 stations in 90 mins before the window to EU went down again.
( Working condition was 100w from an ICOM 7300 + 3 choices of mono band hyendfed antennas 15 - 17 - 20mtr band )
Two days later i tried the 15mtr band instead and i only managed to work 4 stations in 30mins.
So i switchted back to 17mtr where the band was completly dead. ( you can not always have good propagation )
I also have tried 20mtr despite of wat the propagation site Voacap mentioned, but also there was NO propagation at all.
So the rest of the holiday i worked on 17mtr and was happy that i took the 17mtr mono Hyendfed antenna with me.
I can only say about these Hyendfed anyennas that they are GREAT....!

On all my trips 9H3A ( Malta & Gozo ) YB9/PB5X ( 2014 & 2016 ) i was happy to work with these mono Hyendfed antennas.
They are such an ease to put or hang them up, they have ALWAYS a perfect SWR and they work SO great.
In matter of fact the last time whan i was on Gozo my good friend 9H4CM decided to buy the 4 Hyend fed antennas from me
as he was verry surprised about the good performance about this antennas. ( ask Charlie 9H4CM whan you hear him on the band )
That said i am verry happy that i know the guys of the HYENDCOMPANY and want to thank them for there great support & service.
So if you are still thinking this summerholiday wich antenna to bring to your summer QTH.....?
HYENDFED ANTENNAS will be the answer.
73 Roberto PB5X - YB9/PB5X - 9H3A
 


 

30-5-2016

 

Hello again Ron,

The rain is gone and the antenna is installed in a flat top configuration at the condo but only about 5 meters above the ground. The antenna is connected to 75 feet of RG-8X and there is a line isolator at the transceiver end.

I shortened the wire by wrapping it around itself as my daily 40 meter net is on 7263 KHz and swr there was initially 2.3 on this antenna. After shortening the wire by about 20 inches. I ended up with swr < 2 to 1 across all four bands.

After shortening the wire the Mid-band SWR readings were:
7.2 MHz 1.6
14.25 MHz 1.2
21.25 Mhz 1.1
28.6 MHz 1.3

I had left my QRO 40 antenna in it's location at the same height and orientation as the new antenna to compare the two on receive (aware there may be some interaction which is why I wrapped instead of cutting when adjusting wire length) My previous experience with other multi-band end fed antennas was they were usually 1.5 to2 S units lower on receive than my mono-band end-fed half wave antennas. This was not the situation with my new Hyend 4 band antenna. Signal meter readings were the same as on the QRO 40 and if the was a rare difference the 4 band was very slightly higher.

After lowering my QRO 40 antenna I did my usual 40 meter net control duties without mentioning that I was using a different antenna. No one noticed any difference in my signal strength. All was normal!

Wonderful performance, wonderful quality, wonderful customer service!
Thank you,
Terry K9DBV
ps: Thank you for the unique bottle opener. I may have to buy some Heineken to try it out!
 


 

8-1-2016


Hello again Ron, and happy new year! At last the weather has improved, and I have been able to get out and try the 4 band ultra-light that my wife bought me for Christmas, you asked me to let you know how I got on.....
Firstly, thanks for amazing customer service, very quick delivery, and thanks for the little clog bottle opener!
I intend to use the antenna portable, so thats how I tested it, far end on a 10m fishing pole, sloping down to 1.5m at the TXR, and 5m of co-ax to connect. Amazed at the results, using my FT817 there are no SWR bars on 40m, 20m, 17m, 15m or 10m, so I am very happy with the antenna, received signals on 40m, 20m and 17m seemed to be as strong as I would have expected, unfortunately I did not have time to make any QSO's, but I'm sure the low SWR and strong reception point to a pretty good antenna!
Thank you so much Ron, I would reccomend Hy-endfed to anyone, great service, great antennas!

All the best, Andy Keddie, M0KED.





10-12-2015

Hallo Ron,
Antenne deze namiddag ontvangen, perfecte service!
Heb ze deze namiddag al direct opgehangen en het resultaat is FAN-TAS –TISCH !!
Heb al heel wat antennes uitgetest maar dit slaat werkelijk alles op het gebied van draadantennes.
Toen ik de reviews las was ik overtuigd maar dit is bijna niet te vatten. Ongelooflijk goed.
Proficiat met jullie meer dan uitstekend werk, ik ben in elk geval overtuigd en zal dit ook verder getuigen in de clubs waar ik lid van ben en over de frequentie.
Denk me nog een tweede aan te schaffen en zal kortelings de bestelling maken.
Ook dank voor het cadeautje, is een zeer gewaardeerde attentie – Mooi!
Tot later en best 73
Marc

 





10-11-2015

HyEndFed für 30/ 40 m von PA3RK-Ron
Es scheint schwierig zu sein eine HyEndFed für 20/30/40 m zu erstellen. PA3RK Ron hatte mehre Versuche gestartet. Da ich aber für outdoor am liebsten 30 und 40 m bevorzuge, hat Ron für diesen Bereich eine Antenne erstellt.
Die Antenne ist für 100 Watt vorgesehen, ist 16,2 m lang und hat eine Verlängerungsspule für das 40 m Band. Die Antenne kann horizontal oder als Slopper betrieben werden.
Material rostfreier Stahl, versilberte BNC-Buchse mit Teflonisolierung, Gehäuse ABS, UV-resistent, Antennenlitze aus hartgezogenem Kupfer.
Ich hatte nun in den letzten Tagen (goldener Oktober) Gelegenheit die Antenne im Gelände zu testen. Ich bin sehr zufrieden.
Das SWR war im CW-Bereich einwandfrei und ich konnte den KX3 ohne Tuner betreiben.
Alle Stationen die ich gehört hatte, konnte ich auch arbeiten. Ich hatte vorwiegend Kontakte mit SOTA/ GMA-Stationen auf den Bergen. Eine schöne Verbindung war mit einer SOTA-Station im Mont Blanc-Bereich.
PS: Der Kx3 hat die Antenne auch im 20m Bereich angepasst, der Wirkungsgrad sinkt dann doch.
73 de Hans - DL3MBE

 





19-7-2015

As I don't have much space at home, I decided to buy a HyEndFed 10-20-40
meter antenna. I installed it by fixing one end of the match box to a
window and by letting the other end hang outside, tied to a rope which went
about 45 meters down the external wall of my building until it reached the
roof edge of the parking area of my condo. It is a kind of slope. The
results I
that I decided to order another antenna, this time the full 10 up to 80
meter band, to replace the short one. This longer one has better
performance on 40 meter band. I'd also like to mention the outstanding
support given by the owner of the company. All messages I send them are
quickly answered. Such policy makes me consider it a reliable company and
makes me feel confident in the product.
73's de Cesar - PY1SW, in Rio de Janeiro.

 





18-6-2015

Hallo, ich bin User einer HyEndFed-Antenne für die Bänder 10, 15, 20 und 40 m.
Die Drahtlänge beträgt exakt 20 m - sie ist vom Dach (13 m Höhe) auf einen GFK-Mast in 8 m
Höhe gespannt. Die Richtung ist vorzugsweise Ost-West.
Das SWR ist auf 20,40 und 15 m 1:1,0 und auf 10 m 1:1,5. Einen Tuner muss ich nicht einsetzen. Auf den anderen Bändern lässt sich die Antenne nicht gut abstimmen- das SWR ist ziemlich schlecht. Die Antenne arbeitet sehr ruhig, die Störungsaufnahme ist im dicht besiedelten Wohngebiet sehr gering.
Im Jahr 2013 konnte ich Bestätigungen von 1850 gearbeiteten Stationen aus 141 Ländern erhalten -in den Betriebsarten SSB, cw, RTTY, PSK, JT65,JT9 und SSTV. Die Leistung in den digitalen Betriebsarten beträgt 5 - 40 W. Die Leistung in SSB und cw maximal 100 W- eine Endstufe setze ich nicht ein. In diesem Jahr erhielt ich Bestätigungen aus 98 Ländern von 760 Stationen.
Die Antenne ist sehr einfach, außerordentlich durchdacht und arbeitet meist perfekt.
Selbst bei harten Pile-Ups kam ich mit 100 W oft durch. Sie arbeitet sowohl mit dem IC7100 als auch mit dem IC7600 sehr gut zusammen. Ich kann sie für alle antennengeschädigten OM’s mit
wenig Platz und mit geringer Auffälligkeit mit gutem Gewissen weiterempfehlen.
Vielen Dank liebe Antennenbauer für dieses Produkt- es schlägt sich vorzüglich.
73 von Frank DM5KK=




5-6-2015

I have bought the HyEndFed 4 band 10-15-20-4010-15-20-40 custom 400W version and installed as a permanent antenna in my house. Even in the first temporary installation (1 mt from roof), it showed 1:1.2 SWR on 10&15mt, and 1:2.5 on 20&40, with a good efficiency on a local level. Then, once it has been correctly placed in Inverted Vee config @around 8mt height, it has shown minimum SWR on all bands (a bit higher on 40mt) and oustanding RX/TX performance both nationwide, EU and Americas. It is a great antenna and very easy to be put in place. Also, I have appreciated your postsales support and Ron provides outstanding technical help. J Thanks!




24-5-2015

Hello Ron
About the 100 watt UL antenna.
Have the antenna get ordered yesterday and it was built and tried out immediately. I was very surprised how well does this antenna, I am absolutely delighted and happy would again convey my thanks. This antenna will be my new travel companion!
Congrates !!

73 es 55 de Franz, OE6TQG





7-5-2015

HyEndFed 12.5m Fibreglass mast - short review.

by MM0HRL

I began previously with a 10m mast for portable DXing from various places in my area. This was actually a 10m flagpole sourced from an ebay seller. It may be light, but unfortunately is also exceptionally fragile feeling and looking; It's survived one winter here in a semi permanent secondary role but I don't see it lasting much longer. It's okay up to a point but only if you use featherweight antennas with it. There's no way I could use it as I'm using my Hyendfed 12.5m mast. If I had seen this 10m flagpole close up before buying - I would not have bought it.
And that's when I decided to look elsewhere, as it appeared that nobody in the UK made - or imported - fibreglass tele-masts made specifically to hold up hefty full sized antennas.
First I found the Spiderbeam site and their mast looked good. But I didn't buy right away, decided to look further in case there was anything else available also inside the EU so I didn't have to pay import duties on delivery.
Then I found the Dutch Hyendfed site, with its 12.5 metre mast. It's slightly longer, slightly heavier than the Spiderbeam model, and finished in a neutral mid-grey so would not be quite so noticeable as a black one.
So I ordered one, and it's everything I hoped it would be. Its sections' engagement-tapers seem to be much less prone to collapsing under load than my ebay flagpole - which used to collapse regularly in use. The wall thickness is much heavier-made than the flagpole I mentioned above. It's an impressive product.
Its extra thickness and feeling of being reliable and solid are exactly what I wanted. So far it's held up a full size G5RV on 2 mini-DXpeditions with not a single collapse. It's been admired by friends too.
So for me, it's been money well spent. If you are contemplating getting something like this I'd urge you to avoid the weak and thin flagpoles sold on ebay - and especially the even lighter fishing rods (commonly referred to as Roach Poles) which are more common. They are cheaper, but will maybe work out more expensive if you break a couple. Honestly, I don't see my Hyendfed mast breaking in normal service - it's that impressive.
I have no business connection with the Hyendfed company in any sense - I'm just a customer who's glad he found this product.
Ian Gourlay
MM0HRL




20-2-2015

Hoi Luitjes,
Gisteren de 11m end fed opgehangen van de schoorsteen naar de dakgoot. Ik heb de antenne iets moeten inkorten omdat ik vaak op de hoge kanalen werk. Het resultaat was verbluffend. Mijn eerste contact was een Russisch station in Koersk met een rapport 5-9 . ECHT TOP.
Mijn verwachtingen zijn echt groot.
Bedankt voor deze antenne.
Gr, Martin




6-2-2015

Hi Guys,
Received my 3 band QRP End-fed Antenna today. Connected it to my FT-817 and very happy with the performance. Super Mil-Spec quality and components! Keep up the good work.
73s
Anil Raj
SM0MFC=




5-2-2014

Dinsdag de endfed ontvangen vandaag opgehangen,ik heb hier maar 1 woord voor geweldig
10mrt 1op1 20mrt 1op1 40mrt 7077 1op1.2 ik ben hier erg blij mee bedankt ik zal deze antenne zeker aanbevelen
Groet Dick




21-1-2015

Hi Ron,

Just to let you know that the 40m antenna arrived today and I put it up this afternoon on top of the building where I live near Cartagena in Spain. We are very high up here and right by the sea so the position is excellent. The antenna tunes perfectly and my first contact with a 5/9+ report was with HB9UQX. My second contact, a few minutes ago, was with JH7MQD near Tokyo who gave me a 5/7 report. I am using an ICOM 7600 with 100 watts so the antenna is outstanding and I am very pleased!

 





13-12-2014

80 Meter QRO 1KW

Hello Ron,
here is my feedback. As I said, I 've tested the antenna in the morning. I have worked many us stations as usual. The antenna works good, has low SWR and is very broadband. I will say perhaps as good as my delta loop. In comparisation with my delta loop there is only little or no difference between both antennas with a little advantage for the delta loop. The reports with the well known us stations were almost the same as every saturday morning. The only difference is that the propagation today was better than in the last weeks. The noise level was also almost the same, perhaps a half s unit lower on your antenna. Altogether your antenna is a very good antenna, but it is not an improvement for me. Same reports and the same noise level. But there are two disadvantages, the antenna will handle 1kw, my amp makes 1,5kw but you write on your website you think about higher output antennas. Second is I always have to move the antenna every weekend towards usa and back again to north east for the week. It seems that only vertical polarized antenna has this high noise level and horicontal polarized antennas do not have. But then no dx is possible. Perhaps do mag loops solve my problems.
If it is possible I will test during the week with japanese stations and once more next saturday against a mag loop for receiving differences.
73
Peter




29-11-2014

Ron en Rob,
Normaal gesproken ben ik niet zo van de reviews en juichende verhalen.
Toch wil ik nu eens doorgeven dat de 30 meter antenne die ik van jullie heb hangen het uitstekend doet.
Hij hangt horizontaal met zelfs een stukje van 3 meter schuin naar beneden.
Gisteravond werkte ik er RI1ANT op Antarctica mee.
Ruim 15.000 km na 1 keer roepen met 100 Watt.
73 van een tevreden amateur
Peter PC7T




1-11-2014

Jan Mulder
Vandaag op de dag van de amateur de 5 band HyEndFed antenne en de 10 meter mast gekocht. Thuis de mast met beugels voor montage van 70 mm PCV pijp en een paar vulstukjes afval plastic vast gezet aan de schutting achter in de tuin.
Het einde van de antenne bij de overgang naar het laatste mast segment met een tyrap vastgezet. Het voedings kastje met een grote boekenplank beugel aan het huis gezet zodat er enige afstand tussen de muur is.
Totaal ongeveer anderhalf uur werk met een heel goed resultaat. Het werkt echt heel goed ook zonder antenne tuner.
Ik vind het een antenne die ik eerder had moeten aanschaffen, een aanrader dus.
73 Jan PA0DMM